I’m an author, proofreader and beta reader.

I grew up in Denmark and, for most of my life, I had no notion that it wouldn’t also be where I’d grow old. After leaving school at nineteen, I started university – twice. English first, then Finnish a few years later. Both times I abandoned it within a year because I wasn’t, I guess, ‘feeling it’.

I also at various points considered training in film editing, office administration, dairy work and bookselling. Can you tell I had no idea what I was doing?!

But in 2014, at 25 years old – encouraged by my wonderful partner and a couple of reasonably successful fanfictions – I took the plunge and moved to the UK to study Creative Writing at university and be closer to the language I liked to write in (by the time I was a young teen, most of what I was reading was in English, and, consequently, writing in English started to feel more natural than writing in Danish).

Five years, two degrees and a proofreading qualification later, I’m still here. These days I divide most of my working time between my own writing projects and helping other writers with theirs. ‘I just want to make art and help people,’ said one of my favourite TV characters once. And, yeah, that about covers it!

When I’m not doing any of that, I can usually be found hanging out with my partner, perhaps going for a walk or catching up on one of our TV shows (currently: the last season of Orange Is The New Black); looking after the house because my partner is a teacher (nuff said); reading and wishing I wasn’t such a slow reader so I could read more; playing the Sims 3 and updating my Excel/Access files containing all the data and rules I apply to keep the game interesting and realistic; procrastinating and playing games on my phone; or desperately trying to catch up on the dozen or so podcasts I subscribe to.

What else can I tell you about me? I’m queer – transgender (he/him), bi and ace – left-handed, vaguely pagan and very introverted. I adore badgers, squirrels and Scotties. I’m a Questioner, an ISTJ and a Hufflepuff/Ravenclaw.

Reading
Recently Read
Goodreads